Monday, November 17, 2008

Some baseball writers still don't get it

NL MVP voting was released today. Deservedly, Albert Pujols won the award. Anything else would have been a disgrace. But, the outcome doesn't excuse the writers for what follows henceforth.

NL Cy Young voting:

1st place votes
Lincecum: 23

Webb: 4

Santana: 4

Sabathia: 1

Lidge: 0

NL MVP voting:

1st place votes
Pujols: 18

Howard: 12

Lidge: 2

There were two writers who simultaneously thought Brad Lidge wasn't the best pitcher in the National League this year, while also being the best player in the National League.

Also, go back and look at the NL MVP voting.

In the "Others receiving votes category," as posted by ESPN, we see the #4-27 vote getters.

Others receiving votes: Manny Ramirez, Dodgers, 138; Lance Berkman, Astros, 126; CC Sabathia, Brewers, 121; David Wright, Mets, 115; Brad Lidge, Phillies, 104; Carlos Delgado, Mets, 96; Aramis Ramirez, Cubs, 66; Hanley Ramirez, Marlins, 55; Chipper Jones, Braves, 44; Geovanny Soto, Cubs 41; Johan Santana, Mets, 30; Chase Utley, Phillies, 30; Ryan Ludwick, Cardinals 17; Brandon Webb, Diamondbacks, 14; Adrian Gonzalez, Padres, 13; Matt Holliday, Rockies, 13; Prince Fielder, Brewers, 11; Derrek Lee, Cubs, 10; Carlos Beltran, Mets, 10; Tim Lincecum, Giants, 9; Jose Reyes, Mets, 3; Jose Valverde, Astros, 3; Stephen Drew, Diamondbacks 2; Nate McClouth, Pirates, 1.

Seriously. Chase Utley was insanely valuable this season. Chase Utley went .292 / .380 / .535 this year. He played in every game but three. He played the best defense in baseball at a position up the middle.

Note: I am not suggesting that Utley was the MVP this year. It was clearly Pujols, and the voters got it 100% right. But, to have Utley behind the likes of Carlos Delgado, Aramis Ramirez, Ryan Braun, and Geovany Soto, that should be criminal.


Martin said...

Bah he shouldn't be behind Howard. Without Utley, the Phils wouldn't have been in place to overtake the Mets late in the year.

Chris W said...

Delgado had a great year

dan-bob said...

Is it possible that the writers who vote for Cy Young are not the same as the writers who vote for MVP?